The choice

Cosmic Hilltop, Standing Alone n colorful, galaxy on the horizon, day vs night, tree in cosmos wallpaper

On a secluded hilltop in the dead of night, a small fire is raging. A silhouette of a man sitting next to the fire is seen in the cascading light of the flames. He sit in front of the fire, eyes closed, mumbling words that make no sense.

In the distance, as if from nowhere, dark clouds come rolling in towards the hilltop. As the clouds, cover the starry skies above the hilltop with darkness. The man stops his chanting, and sits quietly, eyes closed, as if waiting for something. He sits in silence, the light of the fire cascading of his face, as the dark clouds build up overhead.

Suddenly in a blaze of light and sound, an explosion shatters the silence as lighting and thunder meet with the fire in a display of light, magic, and power.

The man unshaken slowly opens his eyes, and looks to where the fire had been. Now a dancing cascade of brilliant light. He grins to himself, although his eyes are filled with pain and sorrow as he gazes into the light.

A voice suddenly resonates from within the light, that of a soothing woman, a voice filled with understanding and love. ‘I know why you have invoked me, Micheal. Yes, I know your name, I know why u have called upon me, I have seen your pain and I can assist. But I has consequences, are you prepared to accept these?’

Micheal looks into the light first shocked at the fact that it know his name, then a stern look comes over his face. ‘If u have truly seen my pain, my broken heart, then u know that whatever the consequences, I accept them gladly, just do what needs to be done and take my pain away, as I fear it may kill me…’

‘Micheal, all I need to for you to ask and it will be done. However, in order to take away the bad, the good will be taken as well. You cannot have the one without the other. I will take away your pain, but in doing that all the joy and happiness will be taken as well. Your heart will become cold and hard as the stone, are u willing to accept that?’

‘I need to not feel this, it that is what it takes then so be it’, Micheal says with a stern voice as he stand up and gazes at the light before him. ‘ So mote it be’ the voice from the light resonates within his soul and then as suddenly as it appeared it was gone. He stood there standing upon the hilltop, smoldering fire before him, under the starry sky, and felt nothing. Nothing but a cold emptiness now filling his once shattered heart.

Years had passed since that faithful night, and Micheal became a success. No fear, no regret, no pain were his traits now. However, within his soul there was a yearning, a emptiness, with all he had achieved the void could not be filled.

Until one day there was a stirring within him, a small spark deep within his stone cold heart. He looked upon this vision of beauty, this rose and felt something. It was difficult for him to understand as the had not felt anything in such a long time, but now, something so simple and beautiful, so pure had made his stone heart fill with pure joy and love. As the stone heart began to beat once more, the woman’s voice filled his head; ’You have found that which has been put here to complete you. Hold onto her, for without her you are merely a shell. Your heart had been closed to the world not by my doing, but by your own choice. Now by the woman who has taken your breath away, you are no complete, whole, free. Cherish it, as it is fragile. You have always had the power. I merely watch and guide. The rest is up to you.’

D.Kay

Leave a comment